Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Around the world, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, more adults started to work from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because of the health recommendations and restrictions. The COVID-19 pandemic, also known as the coronavirus pandemic, is an ongoing pandemic of coronavirus disease caused by the transmission of a virus among humans. Certainly, this behaviour has started before the outbreak, but the number of people working or studying at home has highly increased during the pandemic. Nowadays many people have access to computer, internet and mobile phone and these became more available and cheaper for everybody. Due to technological progress, its availability and easy access, many people work distantly and school children learn from home. I think this is a positive development, but there must be an adequate balance. Therefore, the technology has become cheaper and more accessible for people. On the other hand, there are some negative aspects of distance learning and working. People less communicate with their coworkers. Decreased social interaction could lead to psychological problems, such as depression or other mental problem. Managers and teachers could not monitor, fully control how a worker and a student are performing their tasks. For example, they can spend their time doing something different rather than doing their job or learning. In conclusion, I am convinced by the idea of working and studying from home. It’s positive, such as convenience for people.