Modern technology is now very common in most work places. How do you think this has changed the way we work? Do you think there are disadvantages to relying too much on technology?

Majority of the workplaces have adopted the cutting-edge technology and it has become usual for everyone. This phenomenon has completely changed the way of working by providing comfort and convenience. However, relying too much on these functionalities can affect physical fitness and productivity in some way. Nowadays, every workplace provides all the facilities of modern technologies which give comfort and convenience to work and this has altered our way of working. To elucidate, all the technologies have automated functionality which does not need any manual effort. Such as facilities like air conditioning, elevator and wireless network provide ultimate convenience for their work that they don’t feel discomfort at all. For instance, as per the Times article, today almost 70% of jobs are office jobs which are built with all the latest technologies to provide ease to the employees. On the other hand, there are few drawbacks of being dependent on these technologies and one of them is ignoring physical fitness because human minds get addicted with convenience and they always choose comfort over fitness and as a result increase the chances of getting overweight related diseases. Moreover, relying on technologies can affect work productivity when there are any technical glitches or shutdowns at the workplace. To provide an example of a fitness issue, there was a survey done by the HR in my organization for using elevators, and almost 85% of people use elevators over stairs in the four storey building. This shows how people are becoming lethargic due to modern ways. To conclude, there is no doubt that the new generation technologies have revolutionised our method of working by providing comforts but there are always disadvantages of relying on them and the major one is a sacrifice for health and fitness.