Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, criminals put into jails for a longer time duration. Meanwhile, debaters argue whether it is better to go for other alternative approaches for reducing crime or to put criminals for longer prison sentences. This essay will certainly explore both sides of the argument and definitely discuss that to alleviate crime, criminals should be put into prison for longer sentences because it would set up an example for society. On the one hand, if any criminal commits any serious crime, then he/she needs to be punished for longer prison sentences. As a result, it would establish an example in such a way that no criminal cannot show any tendency to take any risks to involve any brutal activities. It will inculcate in their mind that if they do get involved in any offence, they will be facing this situation. For example, in 2005, in Russia, the Government decided that any serious offenders would be put into prison for a longer time duration. Surprisingly, crime numbers of Russia fell down astonishingly by almost 40%. On the other hand, offenders can be engaged in some unpaid social services. By doing this, they can apprehend the value of communities. To clarify more, in Chennai, most of the criminals, who commit mild crimes, they are asked to provide community services like a plantation, cleaning area, etc. According to the survey conducted in 2019, the crime numbers in Chennai got reduced steadily by 5%. In general, offenders engaged in any kind of brutal activities should be put into prison for a longer time duration because this would set up a proper example for the whole community. So, Any people would not dare to commit any crime. In conclusion, crime has been increasing day by day. This essay elaborates all parts of the argument as well as clarifies that as sending criminals into prison would be helpful to make citizens aware of the punishment of crime, so, offenders should be put into prisons for a longer time period. In the future, Authorities should keep these above factors in their mind before taking action against any criminal.