Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Economics and environment are two major aspects that determine a successful country. This has, however, ensured a debate of sorts that it is possible for a country to be economically and environmentally successful or not. Before any firm opinion, I would like to explicate some factors in the support of both. To begin with, there are many nations which are progressive in terms of their economy while having pollution-free surroundings because the government of those countries have implemented laws and effective programs to conserve the nature while maintaining their country's wealth. For example, New Zealand is known for its being an economically Independent and environmentally friendly nation. According to a recent survey, they have no debt in the world bank and their people generally feel financially secure. Adding to it, the country is also known to generate the least air and plastic pollution. consequently, it can be inferred that economic and environmental success could co-exist in a nation. However, other schools of thought argue that the goal to achieve economic success with a favourable environment is not possible. It could be attributed to the notion that an economically successful nation develops more industries, which increases the amount of waste. For example, many experts claim that most developing countries like India showing an increment in their GDP but the air quality becomes worse because Industries release the toxic waste into the atmosphere. Additionally, to boost the economy, they developed their transportation system, which increases more pollution and traffic congestion. As a result, these two aims economically successful and clean environment are not compatible to achieve for a nation. To conclude, in my opinion, there is a high possibility for a country to achieve economic success and a clean environment if the government of that country imposed stringent laws and regulations.