In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, due to bad eating habits, a number of people experiencing health issues is rising more than ever before. In my opinion, higher charges on fast food would only partially improve this situation. Analyzing the effects of these restrictions on lower-income groups will prove this. From an economic point of view, the higher tax might seem sensible. For example, populations in developed countries such as the USA, Australia and Britain are increasingly overweight, and the healthcare system spends a large part of its budget on people with diet-related health problems. However, most people who consume fast foods are aware of its health consequences. Thus, apart from deterring people from consuming junk food, an additional tariff on this type of dietary products could help fund the healthcare system. Nonetheless, it also needs to be considered which socio-economic group consumes unhealthy foods as the main part of their diet. Statistics indicate that lower-income groups eat more of this food than wealthier people. For instance, recent empirical research by the US government reported that many families simply cannot afford to buy healthy food or pay higher taxes on ready-made meals. This is due to the fact that many governments offer large subsidies to farmers who provide products for the fast- food industry. Fruit and vegetables, on the other hand, are not subsidized. Therefore, increasing tax on fast food will have only a marginal effect on its consumption, as many people are consuming it because healthier alternatives are not conveniently available. To summarize, although imposing a higher tax on fast food could have certain economic benefits, it would have a negative impact on lower-income groups. Therefore, this idea cannot be fully supported as it would only lead to greater poverty and families facing further hardship.