In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

There has been a worrying trend that in past years, with the increasing craze of shopping malls amongst individuals, many small businesses have closed. This trend can be ascribed due to a number of reasons and it must be addressed by definite actions. The first and foremost reason is the upmarket infrastructure of malls. Actually,nowadays people are leading frenetic life, due to which on weekends they prefer to go a place where they can spend some time with family, watch the movie to relax and buy groceries and all stuff for the whole week. Therefore,a small outing helps them to enjoy as well as to the department store for clothes, eatables, etc. That is why the find local shops boring. For illusion, Being an IT professional, I am leading a hectic life, so I use to go to the Elante Mall nearby my home for shopping and enjoy at the same time. which helps me to release stress as well as save time.The second reason is that big billion sales are a major reason why people prefer to the outlet in shopping centres over local shops. For example, my mother prefers to buy branded designer clothes, but rather than shopping such clothes on local branded shops she always prefers to go eminent shopping malls, especially where she get huge discount and latest variety. Furthermore, to attract clients and promote infrastructure and services,shopping centres use the latest technical marketing methods which are impossible for the small businessman. A number of measures must be implemented to tackle this sensitive issue.The first solution is that small businesses should adopt some inexpensive methods to promote their business such as pamphlets, a newspaper for promotion.A small step can make a huge difference in their daily sale. However, if they do not afford any extra investment they should take help of social media, For instance, one of my cousin who runs a sweet shop, use to post pictures of sweets with price details and attractive caption top attract more and more customers. Thus, his sale increased by 15% in the past few months.Another feasible solution is that local venders should offer some special deal and small offers to attract customers. Moreover, they would try to update the infrastructure of shop especially if it is a grocery, fast food or clothes outlet. To conclude, there are numbers of reasons why people prefer to shop in a large shopping store over the small local shops and it can be tackled by a number of remedies.