Lately, more and more work are done by machines instead of human. Do you think the positive impact on the development outweigh the negative impact on individuals and society?

In the technological era, the advancement of cybernetics and artificial intelligence means machines can replace human labours in many professions. However, whether this trend is beneficial or harmful remains a contentious topic. In my point of view, I opine that the advantages are far more superior than its drawbacks. The substitution of robots and machines to human provides tremendous benefits. In the first place, it advances our industry at an unprecedented rate, due to its efficiency. This is because machines can work tirelessly around the clock and only require maintenance periodically, which are far more productive than the traditional 8-hour shift. Many large industrial firms, such as GM or Toyota, underwent a process of complete automation in their factories. Secondly, this development also creates a shift in the workforce. The reason is that with the help of machines in the assembly lines, people must master their knowledge on research and development process, instead of only working repetitive tasks. Despite the mentioned advantages, the automation process has some noticeable negative impacts on our society. An obvious one is the loss of jobs for millions of blue-collar workers since machines will replace them in factories across the globes. For instance, in countries which are known for the cheap labour force like Vietnam or Bangladesh, the unemployment rate has surged since the beginning of the 4.0 industrial revolution. This can evolve into a troublesome societal problem if not managed correctly. Another drawback worth mentioning is the possible loss of traditional handicraft and craftmanship, which might be tied deeply to our culture. This is because machines can replicate things perfectly, so the finesse and skill of these crafters might not be required anymore. Consequently, the distinctive features of our culture might become redundant and lose their significance. In conclusion, the omnipresence of machines and robots in modern society brings about both harms and goods. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that its merits to our society surpass the demerits, since those are easily manageable.