Some people prefer the lifestyle and activities offered when living in a cold environment. Others prefer a hot environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Human beings and other species are affected by multiple environmental factors, such as temperature, that can impact their welfare. When it comes to environmental temperature preferences, there is one group that prefers warm weather, whereas another one would rather live in chilly places. On the one hand, defenders of a warm climate believe the quality of life is much better than in cold sites. This is because they may enjoy activities in nature and practice, for instance, outdoor sports. For example, citizens from seaside/coastal villages or cities can go to beaches after a work-day to chill out. Moreover, they may be in a good mood when the days are long, which can be explained by their higher melatonin levels on those days. Several studies have shown the positive relationship between sunlight and warmer temperatures and melatonin levels. It is well-known the melatonin affects the mood in people, which could explain the reason why people living in tropical countries feel better in warm temperatures. On the other hand, some people enjoy the cold because they feel physically and mentally better. It is said that in colder times people are less tired and stressed, and their work performance is much more superior. For example, a survey carried out in Spain, where the level of welfare was evaluated taking into account different variables, showed that the people surveyed live more relaxedly in colder months. Besides, according to those who prefer the cold, it is easier to adapt to cold conditions than too hot ones/conditions. Even though I feel more comfortable and energetic living in winter or cold places, I believe the preferences depend on social class/status. In other words, people from high or middle classes can quickly adapt to temperature variation. Unfortunately, many times, low-class people can not afford heating systems or air conditioning, thus suffering extreme weather conditions. To sum up, people prefer climates in which they feel comfortable or can enjoy their free time. Often, the preferences can vary according to social status as it will affect the ability to adapt to different temperatures.