It is increasingly common for people to get the news from social media. Traditional sources of news like newspapers, television and radio are becoming less popular. Why is this so? Is it a positive or negative development?

Reading the media reports from online interaction platforms such as Instagram, Twitter, and other mediums have risen rapidly since the internet took hold of people's lives in general. Although there are numerous drawbacks to getting dispatches from online portals, I believe it still has more perks than traditional mediums. There are several reasons why news from social media has more appeal than the one from traditional sources. To begin with, it is much more convenient to obtain it when you only need your own devices to access said information. Readers can receive the latest updates available without the hassle of visiting the nearest bookstore, even while on the go. In addition, the unprecedented speed with which users can share content on the internet enables news to be accessed in real-time, often eliminating the time delay that is needed by traditional publishing methods. For instance, conventional publishers need to print the articles first which takes time, whereas publishing items on Instagram or Twitter lets the press skip the printing stage before releasing the information to a large audience. Furthermore, social platforms allow users to engage with published media reports with likes, comments, and shared features. These features facilitate society's participation by providing a space for more diverse voices and perspectives. On the other hand, surfing through online portals for information has several disadvantages as well. While it equips the public with room to voice out their opinion, it may also become a double-edged sword in terms of the media being an echo chamber. Since it is generally user-generated content, it can create a feedback loop where users are less exposed to alternative viewpoints and less likely to critically evaluate material. This might be particularly problematic in the context of politics, as it can lead to a lack of understanding of opposing points of view. Moreover, there is also a definite concern over the large number of misinformation that can be circling on the internet considering there would be fewer curators online than in old-school outlets. The low barrier to entry on online services may reduce the credibility of reports circulating within those mediums. All in all, I strongly believe that while traditional sources still have positive aspects of giving the news to audiences, the convenience of getting news from social platforms is still more appealing because the benefits of easy access and features outweigh the disadvantages.