Many people nowadays travel abroad for their university education. Why do people do this? Would you consider doing this yourself and why? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

The search for a good education has led students from underdeveloped countries to travel far away from their hometowns. The motivation for those students to move to ' first -world' countries such as the USA and UK is to enrol in renowned colleges with a higher degree of education. As an international student myself, I not only consider travelling abroad for education but I would also recommend it because students can have a better education and more opportunities in life. The main reason why students move abroad for college is to have a better education. Living far away from home is tough, but its rewards are much greater. Students who take the risk, or have the benefit, of living abroad for university in developed countries will have a better education while also reaping the benefits of a unique experience that many others won't have. For instance, the number of students applying to travel to Canada for higher education has spiked in the last couple of years as more renowned universities such as the University of Toronto and the University of Guelph have been accepting more and more international students. Therefore, the main reason why students travel is being met by the college's interest. Furthermore, people are moving to different countries for school to have better life opportunities. More often than not, I hear stories of students who come to Canada looking not only for education, but to have a better life. Those have been struggling in more 'modest' countries with oppressive governments or civil wars and have a deep wish to move to a more stable place. For example, when I was in school (in Canada) I had a friend from Venezuela who told me that the main reason she there was to avoid the problems of her home country, who have been dealing with an authoritarian government over the past couple of years. Thus, moving to a developed country is not a luxury for her but a necessity in order to have a better life. In conclusion, though travelling abroad is challenging, more and more students are willing to take the risk. For those, moving abroad not only means a better degree but also a greater opportunity in life.