Today, many couples decide to have birth later. Causes? Effects?

Parenting is an intense job that not many couples are willing to take. In recent years young couples, more often than not, opt to bore a child at a later age when they are more financially and emotionally stable to cope with such task. This essay will discuss what motivates parents to wait to have a child and what are the effects of this in society. There are mainly two reasons that cause couples to delay birth. The first one is money. Having a baby in the early years of a relationship can, and most definitely will, put a lot of pressure on the parents who, therefore, will work more hours in order to cope with the responsibilities of such task. For instance, we all know a couple or two who had an unplanned child and are struggling financially. And that struggle leads us to the second reason couples are willing to wait, emotional balance. It has to do with the simple fact that the older we get the better we are at dealing with certain stressful situations; thus, waiting a couple of years to bore a baby gives us the benefit of emotional intelligence and knowledge. To illustrate this phenomenon better, in recent studies researchers showed that couples who wait to have kids are less likely to file for divorce in the first five years of marriage. That, per se, is a convincing argument why it is worth waiting. That being said, we can assume that there will be an impact as a result of couples waiting to have a child. And that impact will be ageing of the population. The more we wait to have kids the more we increase the age gap between generations. And some countries are already dealing with the issues of an older population who rely on the government or retirement funds. That is the result of a system that was planned centuries ago that will consequently collapse in the future when the age gap will be even greater. For example, in Japan, almost eighty per cent of the population is over sixty years old. Therefore, a lot of pressure is put on the shoulders of the younger working-class generation. Consequently making them work to exhaustion and suffer from depression or stress. Thus, with the above in mind, it is understandable the positive impact that waiting to birth an infant has on the parent's life. However, the consequences of this wait can be the ordeal of the next generation.