Many manufactured food and drinks contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about increasing the prices of sugary products, the main culprit behind various deadly health issues. While I agree this approach will reduce market consumption in general and lead our society to a healthy lifestyle, I believe that the implementation should be approached with caution to minimize potential drawbacks, especially concerning economic aspects like bankruptcy and unemployment. On one hand, it is well known that sugar, especially made from cane, is causing many health problems. In addition to that, many researches also show that it creates addiction issues. Simply following economic law, by setting the sugar price higher is expected to reduce the demand from the customers side. This approach is also already proven in cigarette cases, where putting a luxury tax is effectively decreasing overall consumption in significant numbers. On another hand, a drop in product consumption means an economic slowdown or even a growth stall in some worst cases. Expectation to adapt to the new regulation would create a ripple effect on the business model. For example, companies with volume-based business models would face challenges in fulfilling the sales target to become profitable or just to break even. In the end, this will lead to cost-saving initiatives like firing employees to de-risk from being bankrupt. The government's involvement is going to be crucial here, not only to help smooth the changes but also to help and push businesses to create better alternative products for people, like stevia-based sugar. To conclude, I fully support on idea of increasing the sugar price to encourage people to be more healthy. However, there are proper steps required to smoothen the changes and to reduce the risk on economic side like unemployment and bankruptcy.