Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe it is the best way of using the public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although unemployment is gradually decreasing, it’s still an important problem for society. Some people believe that if the government were giving phones and making sure unemployed people have a reliable network connection, the rate of unemployment would be significantly reduced. I am not sure whether or not this is the best way of using public money to resolve this issue. Until the Internet was widely used, people looking for a job had had to go from place to place and ask employers whether or not they had been hiring. Nowadays, the Internet is the main place for employers to announce that they’re hiring. Someone seeking a job can use a variety of services like LinkedIn or pracuj.pl, but to do so they need an Internet connection and a mobile phone to call potential employers. If these things were publicly funded, people without a job would be able to find a source of income almost instantly. However, this solution has many disadvantages. For instance, what would happen with mobile phones when a person succeeds to find a job? They can’t be thrown away because that would waste loads of money and harm our planet. If they were forwarded from freshly employed to newly unemployed, this would solve this issue, but it’s also a huge logistics operation and furthermore, it gives enormous space for fraud. For example, some people may keep their phones even though they were hired. In a nutshell, it is crucial to help unemployed people with taxpayers’ money. In my opinion, giving Internet access and mobile phones to them is a good idea, but has its flaws and should be discussed further.