Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that allocating resources for education should be prioritized by the government over funding for sports and recreational activities. This is because education will be of benefit to a nation in the long run while sports and leisure activities will be advantageous to a small number of people. In my opinion, I agree that the government should focus its allocation on educational purposes rather than on extracurriculars. I will discuss the reasons in detail in the following essay. Higher budget for schooling will serve as a long term investment for a country as a whole. All citizens should have an access to services, ways and tools in which they can learn and develop their knowledge and skills from childhood to adulthood. In turn, the learnings they gained will be their means to be highly skilled and intellectuals in their chosen field. As a result, it can contribute to a nation's economic progress and on well-being and technological advancement. A good example of this is South Korea where they focus on teaching the English language to their citizens in order for them to be more globally competitive in various aspects. Funding for play in the form of sports and recreation will only benefit a select few. Although the health and mental benefits of having an active lifestyle and taking hobbies are undeniable, it is less comparable to education. Getting people active is not the only way to improve one's overall health but can also be done by proper teachings through educational campaign and seminars. It can be clearly seen in one of the Philippines' health program in which they have actively promote the ill effects of smoking, which resulted in a decrease in cigarette sales throughout the country. In conclusion, the long-term effect of placing a larger amount for building knowledge and skills set is of great value for a country's future prosperity and success. Nonetheless, the obvious benefits of competitive play and fun activities are lesser degrees.