Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technology is advancing faster than ever before, and now it is attainable and affordable to everyone. As a result, a large number of employees started to work remotely, and students opt for homeschooling. Although this medium has both benefits and drawbacks, I believe that the latter outweighs the former, which will be elaborated further in this essay. There are several demerits for this movement. Firstly, the lack of socialisation and communication. Many people feel it is hard to spend long hours in front of the computer screen and no face- to- face interaction with their friends and colleagues. Even though there are various platforms like Teams, Zoom and Skype are available, where they can connect through video calls, it might not be worth as direct contact. For example, a recent survey conducted by "Top Hat" revealing that over 85% of the students said that they miss the social experience with other students and direct interaction with their teachers. Secondly, the lack of good work or study environment and distraction affects productivity. There may be several disturbances from family members and visitors. Especially for a working mother, it is a big challenge to maintain a work-life balance. Moreover, it creates a lot of health issues; sometimes, they have to work continuously for hours without any break and also even forget to eat food on time. However, there are some advantages as well for this method. It can save travelling time. This valuable time can utilise for other activities like extra sleep, spending time with family or for eating healthy breakfast. To conclude, despite this development gained more popularity among the workforce and the youngsters, it has brought about too many problems which is detrimental to productivity.