In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

Being employed and having a source of income are necessary for the smooth functioning of life. Nowadays, the salary from one job is not sufficient and people have multiple income sources. This essay will discuss some of the factors responsible for this shift and also the pros and cons of taking up multiple jobs. First, the cost of living and buying resources is increasing manifolds. The inflation every year is high as compared to the increase in the salary of an earning member of the family. Due to this, the services of education, infrastructure, healthcare, and recreation cost a lot and one is not able to save anything. The USA, for example, has reported a 60% increase in cases of people living in cars near streets due to exorbitant house rents. Second, the way of living and spending has changed a lot. People are influenced by social standards and try to imitate their friends without thinking whether such behaviour is harmful to them or not. Individuals spend on various commodities just to show their wealth and high standards and do not care if that service or item is really needed or not, thereby increasing the demand for unnecessary items day by day. In India, for example, families own more cars than the number of members, displaying a show-off approach towards life. Taking multiple jobs can be advantageous as well as disadvantageous. Working as a full-time and part-time employee serves as an additional source for saving, but also provides exposure to different technologies, working standards, and ethics. Moreover, it increases and strengthens the knowledge base of an individual by giving them the opportunity to work on different types of projects and team members. Additionally, having a second job helps maintain stability in life, saving one from dynamic market situations like layoffs. Serving in two or more organizations has some downsides too. It hampers the physical health of a person. Sitting for a prolonged duration affects eyes and even proves detrimental to neck and back posture. Besides being affected physically, it disturbs the family bond as well. A person does not save time to spend with his family members, affecting family bonds adversely and disturbing the mental health of an individual. For instance, Australia has reported an increase in divorce rates because of citizens who are employed in many organizations. To conclude, there is no harm in being associated with multiple organizations as it helps in saving money and maintaining stability in life, but the individual should not forget to allocate time for self-care and family, as those are important aspects of living a happy life.