Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that educational institutes have been playing an incredible role to educate the students. It is, therefore, some people contend that high school ought to introduce the subject of the worldwide newscast, while others opine the notion and consider it worthless. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints in detail along with my personal perspective as I think that inculcation of news related subject should not be required. To begin with, the vast majority of people favouring to include the news around the globe in the school curriculum so that children could get familiar with what is happening in the different nations. As a result, they can get international exposure while sitting in their classroom and in the future, if they have to opt any foreign country for the higher study, then they could differentiate easily. Indeed, there have been some recorded instances of students who have migrated to the world's renowned countries, after searching each and every aspect of that particular place. Thus, these few instances make it clear that the news headlines as a subject could be sustainable in the long run. Conversely, the other group of people have a different narrative for the concern. Because according to them, the curriculum is already overloaded with a number of different subjects and to add on one more course could be stressful for the learners. Also, global news in the school syllabus will not bolster the individual student as some have an interest in their own country's headlines. For example, according to a survey organized in 2017, 50-70% of students were not aware of the current news that was telecasted nationally or internationally. Overall, due to the massive study related material, intermediate school students hardly have time to cover their course subjects at a required time. To conclude, the people who are forcing the study of worldwide current situations have an entire understanding, whereas, other people's point of view could not be ignored simultaneously. According to my opinion, instead of adding worldwide news subjects, school authorities should focus on the General Knowledge of students as a whole, as GK is already a subject in the school study.