Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, there are a number of high-profile innovations in farming based on scientific research, most notably in the use of chemicals and genetic modifications of crops. I agree that scientific developments have made a great benefit to world agriculture such as genetic modifications or decreased chemical use, but we also need to be aware of the consequences. On the one hand, scientific developments and technology help us to be able to edit the plant’s genetic code to make it have the ability to resist some particular pests and diseases. Lately years, the understanding of plants' genetic makeup, make it possible for us to create new strains of crops naturally resistant to pests and diseases, reducing the need for excessive chemical use. As a result of the scientific modification, plants now have better health and increase productivity. For instance, in some areas of the world, farmers now can grow their own food to consume as well as sell it to the market to generate income. On the other hand, these scientific developments could have some serious drawbacks such as the use of chemicals harming nature organisms and human diseases. For example, chemical insecticides can harm not only pests but also vital pollinators, such as bees and other organisms, which means fewer plants are pollinated, this can result in decreased plant pollination, leading to potential disruptions in food supplies. Additionally, the use of chemicals in farming can contribute to the spread of human diseases, including instances of food poisoning attributed to chemical fertilizers. In conclusion, I agree that scientific developments have made a great benefit to world agriculture such as the development of agricultural machinery and genetic modifications to the refinement of livestock breeding. However, we must understand the impact of innovation before it’s too late to reverse any of these negative consequences.