Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way we entertain ourselves has changed over the last 100 years. Nowadays, we often choose to watch TV or use technology rather than to read, which is often considered more fulfilling, despite its lack of popularity. Improvements in technology and the internet are just some of the reasons why this change has occurred. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people believe that books are going to disappear. Firstly, many teachers teach their lessons on or using modern technology instead of with books. For example, it is much more common for teachers to use projectors with a computer rather than books and a black or whiteboard. This is because it is faster, more convenient and allows teachers to teach more subjects in a shorter space of time. In addition, the internet contains a lot more information and ideas than books. A search for something in a library might find a book or two, while the same search on the internet would discover thousands of websites. Another important consideration is the effect printing books has on the environment. Using the internet or school technology is much better for the environment because it doesn’t waste trees. By choosing technology as our source of information, we might reduce the number of trees being wasted every year. On the other hand, the importance of books as entertainment or information should not be underestimated. The internet, as mentioned above, is often considered unreliable simply due to the fact that anybody can publish anything. Books, however, must be checked and proofread before being published, and so can generally be deemed more reliable and trustworthy. It is clear that the internet and technology are simpler and more convenient as sources of information and entertainment than reading books, and can also provide more reliable information. In conclusion, I completely agree that books are not so important anymore and I predict that soon everyone in the world will use the internet as their number one source of information and entertainment.