International tourism has become more popular in recent decades. However, this can have a considerable impact on the countries which attract large numbers of visitors. What positive and negative effects does tourism have on countries which are popular destinations?

It is evident that international tourism has increased in the past years. It is not so evident that it brings a significant impact on popular countries, especially if they are not well managed to host a large number of visitors. Having an influx of guests can improve several sectors of local tourism but it must be done with a certain level of caution. To begin with, the main advantage of tourism is it brings in money in countless aspects. The revenue generated can make up a significant proportion of both private, local, and national incomes. It provides jobs and employment not only in tourism -related work but also delivers means and an incentive for investment in infrastructure and environmental preservation. Another benefit is that influencers are able to raise cultural and social awareness from the places they visit. Creating campaigns to help if need as seen in social media. In another hand, the same way tourism can bring attention to cultural and social issues, this leisure industry can also masquerade it. Travellers might cause environmental damage even if they behave responsibly. There are reports of ancient monuments and green areas which suffered unrepairable wear-and-tear. Moreover, some countries rely exclusively on the business which often produces profits a fraction of the year and locals are not likely to take decent gain of it. To sum up, while there are plus points to having people connections in many ways, too much would be lost if the proper restraint is not provided.