Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university ?

Whether higher education should equip students with practical knowledge and the tools they can use in future work or whether the main purpose of the university is to teach the way of learning has become a hotly debated topic nowadays. I tend to believe that every course at the university is helpful for the work environment, even if it is not a professional one. On the one hand, graduates expect the university to provide the relevant knowledge that must be helpful in their careers. For example, people who decide to learn accountancy are choosing the best institution in order to learn from the best professors, such as the University of Haifa. I have chosen this place for my study, and got great practical material, however, it was not enough for working as an accountant, as two years of internship should be accomplished as well. Nevertheless, it was enough to pass the professional exams for the first time. On the other hand, a university is a great place where people can get useful skills that not obviously are relevant to their future profession. For instance, the general degree at Haifa University is not dedicated to any specific profession. Students learn many different courses from different departments, so what they really get from that degree is the ability to work with large amounts of different information and flexibility in their future careers. That increases their chances of finding a job in a very competitive market. To conclude, from my point of view, universities should provide different courses, because even if at first glance some of them look irrelevant to the post-graduate reality, they still develop relevant skills for successful careers in the real world.