Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that the subjects of music, art and drama are essential as the other academic subjects, particularly in elementary school. This is because children will have the opportunity to discover their artistic passion. This essay agrees with this statement and will discuss, first, the benefits of performing these kinds of arts, and second, how academic subjects are essential as much as these extracurricular subjects, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Finding one's craft at an early age is truly remarkable as it helps people envision what they want to pursue later on their adulthood. At a young age and without the high pressure for other high mental demanding subjects such as science and mathematics, children are less pressured to study other aspects that will aid them to discover their talents, may it be in the form of singing or playing musical instruments, painting or sketching, or acting. For example, Lea Salonga started to sing and join theatres at the age of 7 years old and is now known as a high-class performance who sang not only in broadway but also for Disney movies. Academic subjects in primary school focus on general and basic information. These are, without question, needed by everyone because it will serve as the foundation of future courses in universities and in work eventually. However, to develop talents early is advantageous because there is a long time for enhancing capabilities and will also teach discipline, patience and perseverance that are helpful in achieving goals and dreams that are necessary for happy adult life. In conclusion, art subjects in primary school are as significant as other subjects because it open doors in finding and improving talents. Nonetheless, academic subjects are fundamentals but will not guide students in learning soft skills. Both are important in building and shaping people.