The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, nuclear energy is the cheapest and cleanest energy source available to mankind. However, like any other energy source it has advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, nuclear energy can be utilized in producing electricity. Unlike other fossil fuels which when burnt, emits hazardous gasses, nuclear energy does not. Furthermore, when carefully exploited it can help in curing dangerous diseases such as cancer, polio, Alzheimer's, etc. In addition, it is also believed to prevent world-war as nations are aware of nuclear power's disastrously havocs, although its dangerous mishaps can not be neglected. The best example is the Hiroshima and Nagasaki incident which wiped out generations and is still affecting the people living in Japan and neighbouring countries. I strongly disagree that nuclear energy benefits surpass its drawbacks. To add another demerit, there is no proper system to safely release radioactive waste from nuclear power resources. Factories and manufacturing units disseminate their hazardous waste into nearby rivers and air, contributing to another pressing issue of pollution. To conclude, without a safe and systematic plan for utilizing nuclear energy, it will always be more of a peril than being useful.