Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

In these days that have the popularity of environmental issues, the usage of private car and motorcycles still does not show any decrease due to some reasons, although the owners of vehicles are enough aware of environmental effects of them. However, there are some solutions to change this trend. Despite the fact of being caused to environmental damages, most people who use private vehicles have reliable reasons. Firstly, the majority of owners is living in the suburbs where are far enough from the city centre and accordingly their workplaces. If the people just give up their private cars and use public transport, it might be extremely time and energy-consuming process for residents due to the long trajectory between city and suburbs. Secondly, in many areas, people experience the lack of public transport which, in turn, triggers to use of private transportation. I could give an example from my hometown, Baku. The public transport supply between Baku and Khirdalan, which is my residential area is dramatically poor and causes spending much more time, even more than 2 hours, on the roads. With regard to possible solutions, it is evident that there are enough ways to tackle the above-mentioned problem in comparison with other ecological issues. Firstly, the governments should take responsibility and begin the industrialization process of suburban fields which will lead to the modification of the location for many workplaces, and consequently, the residents will obtain a chance to work enough close areas to their dwellings. Secondly, the governments should try to improve public transport infrastructure that will involve many vehicles, and be available for everyone who does not want to lose their time waiting for transportation means. This has already implemented in some major cities such as London and Beijing, which is one of the biggest cities in China and resulted in more effectively. In conclusion, although lots of people still use their own vehicles for transportation, even they have enough awareness the environmental impact, there are some measures that need to be taken to decrease the numbers of private vehicles.