Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the number of criminals can decrease completely when throwing them into prison for a long time or it is better to reduce the crime rate thanks to by using alternative solutions. While I understand why some people support the former view, I am still in favour of the latter.  I understand why some people think that the longer period of imprisonment is the best way to prevent crime. From their point of view, doing this generates instills fear in the offenders' mind and then deters them from doing unlawfully. Evidence for this can be seen in Singapore, where thieves are usually punished with the life sentence. As a result, Singapore is a well-known country in which the thieves crime rate is under 1% during the last 10 years. In spite of producing impressive results, this solution costs a large amount of public money to provide offenders with food and other necessities while staying in prison, consequently, it can be detrimental in to Join the words into show examples developing countries. On the other hand, I am still with those who believe that there are more effective ways to fight misdemeanor such as providing vocational training courses. This means that these criminals can learn a trade through jail time and find jobs after being released. By In this way, not only do the crime rate and the unemployment rate decrease but it also helps boost the economic growth in some countries. This is can be seen in the case of Vietnam where a person used to be a prisoner and became an owner of a factory producing exported rice. He said that he could have great success then thanks to the agricultural training in prison.  In conclusion, despite acknowledging why people think the best way to reduce crime is giving longer prison sentences, I hold the belief that the percentage of lawbreakers can reduce significantly if they receive big help from the government.