Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment.

In this age of increasing felonies, several individuals opine that implementing a single penalty for all kind of violations will make the process much faster. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of this view to reaching a reasonable conclusion. One set of the population believes that by unifying the punishment for all the crimes, the authorities can increase the awareness about the consequence of breaking any law. Since the penalty will be the same for every crime, the offender will be much aware of the outcome in advance and may not choose to commit it. To illustrate, if someone is planning to rob a bank and they are aware of the punishment. With the thought of the outcome of the act, they might drop the plan. Therefore, enhancing the clarity of the law-enforcement system. On the other hand, many individuals see this thought as an unjustice to many humans. According to them, the severity of the felony differs in each case and so does the intention and motive of the offender. For example, a fault done by a thief cannot be compared with the act of a murderer. In other words, the motive of the thief could be to support their family whereas the motive of a murderer could be to harm someone. Therefore, it is considered unfair to charge all the crime with the same penalty. Furthermore, unifying the suffering for all type of violations can lead to i ncrease in the crime rate. To illustrate, if both thief and a robber are obliged to pay a fine of Rs. 50,000 for the felony they have committed, the robber will be motivated to repeat such acts again with a thought that a fine of Rs. 50,000 is nothing before the money he can rob from the bank. Hence, encouraging the criminals involved in severe crimes. To conclude, the opinion that making fixed suffering for all kind of crimes can expedite the whole process can increase the awareness of the law-enforcement system. Nonetheless, it also considered as unjustifiable and can lead to rising in the crime rate.