The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether traffic congestion is caused only when individuals need to commute home for work, schooling purposes or even for purchase reasons. I totally disagree with this opinion because there are alternative ways to reduce traffic congestion such as improving public transportation and increasing tax burden when purchasing new cars. The mains way I believe that traffic jam can be avoided is by increasing the public transportations infrastructure. People usually rather use their own cars instead of public transports due to their better conditions. Generally, subways or busses are teeming with people especially during the peak times which lead individuals to avoid them. Therefore, if the State make improvements in public transportation so as to offer more comfortable conditions for commuters perhaps they would use more public transports than nowadays. Another reason why I support the notion that there are other manners to avoid traffic jam is due to the low cost of new car purchases. Sometimes, using public transport can be costly, considering that purchasing a car can become cheaper. Thus, buying a car could offset the fares paid daily for these individuals. As a consequence, a particular way to avoid it would be increasing the tax burden when consumers bought a new car. This could pave the way for people to starting to choose public transport it would be considerably cheaper than using buying a car. In conclusion, I completely disagree that people only tackle traffic congestion for work, schooling and shopping reasons. This owing to there are several manners to deal with this issue. Giving this situation, it seems that the State should try to improve public transport and increase the tax burden as aforementioned.