The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year. What do you think of this trend?

Most of the educational institutions have opted to examine their students over their performance in the entire school year rather than taking exams at the end of a year. In my view, this trend is better than conventional exams due to multiple reasons discussed in this essay. The exams usually consist of courses of a complete year, for which, instead of learning, the students normally cram the words and write them accordingly during their exams. This scenario stops the students from proper learning and makes them forget about their courses in just a few months after their exams. A recent survey conducted by Higher Education Commission in the United States showed that the graduates of the colleges which moved from traditional exams to assessment over the year showed a 34% improvement in acquiring of field related jobs. This is a positive growth, which has convinced more and more institutions to choose these new methods to assess their students. Moreover, this science and technology era with new tech industries every day require graduates to have practical knowledge rather than just theories. Exams culture normally bound the students from having that practical exposure, which results in less effective thinking, and subsequently, fewer chances to get a good job. The alumni of Finland Universities show a 99.9% job acquiring rate around the world because they realized and stopped exams culture many years ago. To summarize, I would urge the institutions around the globe to divert their education system from conventional exams to continuous assessment, so that students can focus more on learning and graduates can have more chances to get good jobs.