Many believe that the best way to ensure a happier society is to reduce the difference in income earnings between the rich and poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Trying to balance the income of the poor and the rich is considered as a method to build a happier society by many people. However, I don't agree with the above statement. In this essay, I would give reasons for my disagreement and also try to list down other measures which yield to a better community. One the one hand, a community is said to be balanced only when all the facilities which are available to the wealthy are also delivered to the people who are less privileged. Thus decreasing the gap between them. For example, essential needs like education, ration,shelter, daily wages etc. are to be made available to the poor people by the Government. Secondly, national leaders should also concentrate on removing social barriers. As a result, self-confidence in the poor will be raised. Thus leading to a well-harboured civilization. On the other hand, if the Government concentrates only on increasing the taxes paid by the prosperous people to maintain a low difference in the wealth of the poor and the rich, then there may be chances that the rich try to leave the country. Moreover, this will be affecting the national income. For example, if the tax on jewels increases, the merchants try to bond and will try to fly into those countries which impose less tax on these items. To conclude, I totally disagree with the statement that decreasing the variation of the incomes between the high-class and the low-class people is the best way to develop a better society. Furthermore,I also tried to give some better methods instead to foresee a happy society.