More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is very common nowadays to see children spending a significant amount of time on electronic devices like computers and tablets. Although it may work as advantageous for parent and children, it comes up with more drawbacks. According to me, it is an alarming issue in today’s generation so, some measures should be taken as soon as possible. The benefit of allowing offspring to spend time on a laptop has benefit to parent as their kids are occupied. There is no doubt that raising kids and taking care of them is tiresome. So, allowing kids to use electronic device give them some time to relieve or take a break. Consequently, This could potentially mean improved family health and relationship. In contrast, there are several disadvantages. Firstly, kids stick to a mobile phone such that they do not have enough free time to play with other mates or play other board games. Echoing this, though they may learn some technical skills, they might become oblivious of the surrounding. As a result, they may lack essential skills like social, creative and cognitive. In addition to the aforementioned point, there is evidence that such development may result in mental and physical health-related issues in younger ones. For example, one study conducted by BBC states that childhood obesity is a burgeoning issue in current era due to the sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, the same may result in possible damage to the eye which can lead to glasses at an early age or other eye-related issues. All in all, the drawbacks of allowing children to play games on mobile phones or tablets outweigh the benefits. While it may give parents more time, it causes catastrophic health damage to offsprings.