Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that cooking should be taught to students in schools because it is an essential life skill while others believe that it’s just waste of school precious time. In my opinion, cooking should be considered a mandatory subject in a school as it fosters the quality of becoming independent and healthy eating habits. I am going to discuss both viewpoints in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, cooking is a fundamental life skill that everyone should possess regardless of gender. It develops the ability to prepare nutritious food. Therefore, teaching cooking promotes an understanding of nutrition and fosters healthier eating habits. In addition, cooking classes at school can help students to explore diverse cuisines, inculcating cultural understanding and appreciation. Therefore, teaching cooking at school can promote healthy eating habits among learners at an early age. Hence, this scenario would encourage schoolgoers to have healthy food by which the problem of obesity among young ones can be controlled to some extent. To exemplify this, Maplewood School of Regina introduced culinary learning as part of the curriculum by which this school reported a reduction in the chances of obesity at an early age. On the other hand, some individuals argue that the school curriculum is already overloaded with essential subjects like, science, mathematics, and languages. Adding cooking classes might burden the students and divide their concentration on academic development. Moreover, some masses believe that cooking is a complex and time consuming process which requires constant supervision otherwise chances of injury can occur due to the mild ignorance of the teacher. Thus, it is better to teach this skill in the family environment under the guidance of parents. To sum up, cooking is a valuable life skill that always brings confidence in folks to cook anywhere anytime without any hesitation. It empowers creativity and cultural awareness. Therefore, implementing cooking education in schools while being aware of maintaining balance with other important subjects.