People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimentin with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologist claim that parents and other membes of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and effects of widspread drug use by young people. Make recommendation you feel are necessary to help fight drug abuse.

Medicines are taken to cure diseases. It can also be taken for other purposes which they are ideally not meant for. Many citizens of developed communities patronise drugs, but the teens of nowadays experimenting with legal and illegal drugs at a faster pace. Some social scientist believes that the parents and other community members are to be blamed because they live a life that conveys bad information to the children. In this essay, I will discuss into details some of the causes such as drug availability and the health implications associated with illicit drugs. And also recommend how best leadership example can be of help. To begin with, the availability of most drugs makes it possible for the youth to try them out any time they feel like it. When there are no restrictions on drugs, they are easily sold out to anyone not taking into consideration the age of the customer or whether the person qualifies to possess it, and this makes it easy to abuse. For instance, if a fifteen-year-old boy can walk into a pharmacy to purchase tramadol without prescription from a qualified doctor, that adolescent is at a greater risk of misusing that medicine. The consequences of substance abuse are unhealthy health implications such as psychosis. Some youth try some drugs and they realise it can provide some relaxation effect and at the end they become addicted to it which can be very harmful to them if taken in excess. For example, some people rely on marijuana to relieve them of their pain or stress but it can affect their mental state if the dosages are not controlled. 'Leadership by example', is an everyday slogan which denotes that, if you want something to be done, you should first do it. So I suggest that if the younger generation will stop substance abuse, then the older generation should and must do likewise. This will deter the children from doing what is not expected of them. To conclude, the minors are at an increasing rate experimenting with illicit drugs and some sociologist consider bad parental habit to be the cause. However, I believe it is due to the drugs being handy and this can give the takers mental disorders if it's overused. I thereby recommend the parents to live a healthy lifestyle which can serve as a stepping stone for their offsprings.