Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Rubbish simply refers to refuse and it has become a severe issue for the whole world due to recent environmental degradations, pollution and global warming. This essay will explore the reasons behind the increasing amount of garbage being produced and profer some measures that can improve the overall situation. To begin with, there are a couple of reasons why there is an increase in the level of refuse produced in recent years. First, the uncontrollable use of non-decomposable carriers (eg. plastics and polythene) is one of the top-most causes. The use of plastic is a growing concern and it is being preferred more than ever for packaging or bottling certain products, especially in the food and beverage industries. Additionally, many individuals pay less attention to recycling and have instead adopted a throwaway culture. This is leading to the preferences of companies to produce one-time products which are eventually increasing more and more production of refuse. To reduce waste production and to save the environment, governments in all countries have to play a bigger role than they are actually playing. The government should legislate strict laws to enforce companies to use decomposable packaging materials. Assistance from the judicial system can be a good move. For example, the mobile courts led by licensed magistrates can impose fines on those who do not comply with the law. The government should also encourage people and manufacturers to take part in recycling and reusing products whenever applicable. Restaurants and fast-food shops should offer a discount on food and drink items when customers return the packaging bottles or packets that were made of plastics. In conclusion, the government, as well as the manufacturers, need to be more focused on the consequence of producing massive amounts of refuse. However, stepping forward by applying possible measures can reduce this growing concern.