"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since the inception of civilization, the health of people plays a pivotal role in the growth and development of a country. Whether a huge portion of the health budget of a country ought to be directed from remedies towards health education and pre-emptive measures – has become a moot point. Notwithstanding, this disquisition delves into these two perspectives and subsequently, will advance my own point of view, in turn. Apparently, the proponents of the school of thought that contend that a sizeable share out of the money allocated for health must be spent on sensitizing people to health issues and on precautionary measures – have their justification. The rationale behind this reasoning is more likely due to the fact that people are unaware of the deleterious effects of numerous activities that they perform on daily basis. To epitomize, according to an international survey, after rigorous awareness campaigns, many countries have seen decreasing trends in HIV cases. Many experts posit that anticipating a health hazard or a disease, endeavouring to stop it in the initial stage, and being ready for the worst-case scenario are crucial steps for a healthy society. On the other side of the coin, could the objectors of the school of thought that postulate that a big chunk of well-being budget needs to be given for discovering cures be possibly right? Certainly, it follows that the rationalization for their argument is much likely because of the fact that there are numerous deadly diseases like Coronavirus, in the world, which needs undivided attention to find a cure for them. In this connection, many argue that priority should be given to current maladies rather than worrying about the ailments which may or may not appear in the future. To conclude, having looked into both points of view, I, personally, believe that when a country spends a great amount of money on well-being education and preventative measures, it becomes more secure against many upcoming dangers as well as promotes healthy practices to fight against current fitness issues. Thus, it can be concluded that more money should be allocated to such practices.