Public transportation is a great way to travel, particularly within a metropolis. The metro is the most convenient way to get around a city. Do you agree or disagree?

Public transportation is a crucial element to be established effectively in a modern city. Among the various options available, rail-based systems, such as the metro, are often the preferred mode of travel. It is agreed that the metro is the most convenient way to get around a city. This essay will explore this argument by analyzing the accessibility and the cost-effectiveness that the metro provides. The first aspect that the metro has over the other transportation modes is its ease of access. One example would be the metro system of Singapore, where people could easily and seamlessly use the metro from one point to travel all around the city without any delay. That is achieved through its enormous network of within-city stations and the implementation of a cashless payment method, using a metro card. This connectivity aspect, together with the easy payment method, harmoniously make the metro a more easily accessible mode of travel. Furthermore, another reason is that for the extensive distance that the metro can cover and its time-effectiveness, the cost is particularly cheap. For instance, using the same example as above, the cost of one train ride in Singapore is only SGD1, which is equivalent to IDR13.000. On the contrary, one taxi ride for the same distance in Singapore could cost approximately 10-20 times more than it would using the metro. This proves the cost-effectiveness benefit of the metro compared to the other transportation methods. All in all, considering the accessibility and the cost-effectiveness benefits, the metro is indeed the most convenient way of within-city travel. Moreover, as technology gets more advanced, it is predicted the metro will be even more convenient in the future.