The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be resolved?

It is an undeniable fact that that a lot of people, especially in western countries, are suffering from excruciating health problems like high blood pressure and cholesterol due to obesity. This essay will consider the myriad reasons behind this deplorable trend and thereby elicit some feasible solutions. There are a plethora of factors leading to the build-up of fat and health risks, such as increased cholesterol levels and hypertension. To commence with, the ultimate reason is the advancement of technologies. Nowadays, people are relying more on the advanced technology to get their work done. For instance, people use the vacuum cleaner for cleaning their houses instead of doing it manually. Additionally, the consumption of processed food too is a significant reason behind accumulated calories. A recent study has also concluded that the majority of children who are overweight eat fast food like burger, pizza. Moreover, a sedentary lifestyle is also a contributing factor that leads to an increase in the number of fat people, thereby intensifying the situation. Thus, a combination of unhealthy food, lack of physical exercise and modern lifestyle has contributed to the rise in obesity problems amongst people. However, every cloud has a silver lining; governments should take responsibilities to help people escape from the obesity dilemma. To begin with, the production and sales of junk foods should be strictly constrained, especially to adolescents. On top of that, public service advertisements about healthy diet and physical exercises should be released through TV channels and various websites. Furthermore, local councils should organize more sports events, pine participants interest and provide them with an incentive to do more physical practices such as walking, running and cycling. To conclude, even though, obesity is a growing global problem, mainly caused by modern lifestyle and food habits, it can be prevented from worsening by following a healthy diet, spreading health awareness and indulging in physical activities because health is wealth.