In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernise, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Owing to limited land supply in many cities, demolishing old buildings in order to install new buildings is very common. In this essay, disadvantages and advantages will be discussed and compared. There are several disadvantages to knocking down old buildings. First, the history behind the old building is not able to tell and educate the young people any more. Moreover, some of them are heritages which are very meaningful to the people. If the buildings are being lost, the young people will probably forget their own culture. Additionally, it can be inconvenient for the people who live inside the building. A lot of people live in these old buildings because it is more affordable. If the building is knocked down, some of them will find it difficult to pay the rent. Furthermore, some may even become homeless. However, despite the drawbacks I mentioned previously, there are advantages that are greater and should be considered. The primary advantage is safety. There are a lot of old buildings in poor condition which may affect the safety of people who live there and pass by. By replacing the old constructions, buildings will be able to withstand extreme situations including earthquakes and typhoons. In addition, erecting skyscrapers and tall residential houses will cater to the accommodation demands better compared to the traditional housing. Fulfilling the demand of city development can decrease the price of housing and rent and, at the same time, offer a place of living or provide a reasonable purchase price. In conclusion, the advantages are more important as it can promote the housing supply and keep the city safe. On top of that, most of the disadvantages can be solved in some easy ways. Only the buildings which have high historical value should be kept.