Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

As countries around the world get developed and modernise, they require more fossil fuel to maintain a higher standard of living. However, fossil fuel is a finite and scarce resource such that few countries are planning to dig more from remote areas. While it may bring more prosperity to countries, it may create a permanent scar to humanity and nature with negative sides. There are benefits to such a strategy. This is firstly due to the fact that people wish to improve their standard of living and for that they require more gas for various purposes. Concurrently, they look for more resources and such research lead them to remote territories, for instance, Chile, some remote areas of Australia. This may result in more resources for citizen which they can use for heating, transportation, flying, and many more. Thus, it makes the standard of living better. However, it is evident from previous experiences that, wherever people find fuel, the different countries start a war to gain control. So, if countries decide to research remote places, there are high chances that eventually they might end up in war. Moreover, interfering such territories means disturbing the way of nature. For example, Antarctica, which is a home for rare animals like polar bear and penguins. So, disrupting their life by implementing heavy tools for digging might lead to disaster, or imbalance for wildlife. Furthermore, there is always a risk of spillage, which may result in a catastrophic impact on nature and wildlife causing more damage to global warming. To conclude, Even though there are some benefits in terms of sustaining or improving our living standards, demerits for nature, rare animals, and global warming cannot be ignored. Such that, it is necessary to lean towards renewable energy sources like solar power, wind power.