Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, parents are focusing more to educate their child about other country languages. It is argued that the primary level is the appropriate time to learn a new language for kids rather than wait for secondary education. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the above statement. Admittedly, there are certain benefits of gaining knowledge about new language at an early age. Firstly, children have more tendency to learn new things in the early phases of their life. Whether it is a new language or a subject it is prime time for a kid to learn. Secondly, language needs more of a practice and by starting from primary school gives children enough time to get used to it. For example, In India, students learn three languages such as English, Hindi and regional language in the primary stage of education. Nevertheless, one of the problems of learning a new language at the initial stage is increasing pressure on kids. In the primary school curriculum, there are multiple subjects like mathematics, science and social studies etc. So, by introducing additional languages brings pressure in children’s mind and that can have a detrimental effect. According to one study, many kids struggle with depression and anxiety at an early age because of educational pressure. Although this problem can be solved by keeping organised course learning and making language studies enjoyable by movies or any shows. Finally, in conclusion, while this system gives children extra things to prepare in addition to their regular subjects, it is necessary to introduce this foreign sound in primary school for their development and bright future. So, there is no doubt that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages here.