In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some communities, children are encouraged by older people to work harder in order to accomplish anything they want. This essay agrees that there are many advantages of giving such a message, however, there are also some drawbacks that may occur. Especially for children, social motivation has a powerful effect on humankind. To explain more, achieving high success for any job requires some major factors such as hard-working, concentration, and an expectation of a gain from that work being done. For example, if a child is told that he/she does not have to study hard for his exam tomorrow to get a high mark, he/she might misunderstand this message as he/she does not have to study at all and fail in the exam. Clearly, this sentence has a positive effect by decreasing the laziness of children and increasing their psychological powers before starting the work. On the other hand, What would happen if this message is delivered to children without giving them a second option? Obviously, such a situation may lead to negative effects. For instance, in China, India, and some African countries, thousands of children are forced to work hard without having a proper education to support their families financially. Furthermore, the hard-working and expected gain based relationship may not always be correct. As it is said in the previous paragraph, this also depends on other factors which can be omitted by the children's parents or the children themselves. Thus, these kids can start questioning their abilities in a negative way or they may not believe in themselves, nor in their parents any more. In conclusion, there are many positive and negative sides of telling children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. The major advantages are improving their motivation and keeping their awareness to have success by working hard enough. However, the drawbacks can be summarized as the possibility to have psychological problems, and losing trust in their environment as well as themselves.