Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It is believed by psychologists that colours play a significant impact on human health and mind and can affect the feelings of them. This statement is affirmative, hence one should be careful enough while decorating the rooms where people live and work. Firstly, colours have an influence on a person's thinking capacity not only at working place but also in every space. In other words, colours can alter someone's feeling and mood to complete a task. For example, cooler hues such as blue, green can give one a sense of freshness, while the warmer hues like yellow and orange create a brighter environment. Therefore, it is true that colours can affect how one feels and has the ability to transform it. Secondly, the colours influence people's health and working capacity. While dull colours (grey or black) discourage people to work or function properly, bright ones (yellow, white, lighter shades) enhances their ability to think afresh and complete something in accordance with the necessity. To exemplify that, hospitals are painted with bright and light tints to provide the patients with a positive ambience which aids them to recover soon. Moreover, the dark shades of the walls absorb natural light for which the rooms become darker and germs do not get harmed with the penetrated sunlight from the windows of the spaces which has detrimental effects on the physical, as well as, the psychology of the people. To conclude, colours certainly have a significant impact on the mind and well-being of a person and to keep them healthy, concentration should be paid in decorating the walls of any places.