News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Editors decision in deciding what news should be broadcasted on television and what to print in newspapers gets affected by numerous factors like political agenda, monetary benefits and publicity. Since bad news grabs more attention, it is given more importance. I agree, that in order to improve the quality of the news channels more coverage should be given to good news. There is a wide range of factors that influence editors decision while prioritising news. The most important one is political pressure. Some news channels are directly controlled by the political parties that urge them to show information misleading the people. Another considerable factor is the profitability, editor stresses on the topic which attracts the public at large and increases the television rating points maximising the profits. To exemplify, people usually interested in celebrities life and pay attention to the news of their favourite actor actresses and media misleads them by exaggerating the news. Furthermore, the general public shares an intimate relationship with newspapers and broadcasting news. Hence, what type of news they are watching does influence their decision making procedure. Unfortunately, since people are more attracted to the news involving crime, violence, they have become habitual of watching such gross content, and people are bombarded with such type of news on daily basis. However, media is the only source of communication that connects the public to the government and acts as the voice of the people. And in order to make it more reliable,good news must be preferred like, achievements, documentaries and limiting the content by removing unnecessary fake information. To conclude, being the owner of media channels editors need to consider the consequences of a subject matter to be broadcasted before showing it and efforts must be made to show more good news than bad ones.