In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this stetement?

It has been argued whether or not in the future people will prefer e-books and online newspapers instead of their physical versions due to the fact that they would be easily available online and free of charge. Personally, I totally disagree with the statement, as books and newspapers consist of not only a hobby to many people, but also having their online versions free would be unsustainable. For one thing, reading a printed book or newspaper might comprehend an important part of a person’s daily activity. In fact, there are many bookshops and library around the world that claim to have the same number of people, even with the arrival of the internet. Another example is the increasing number of cafés, where people go to read their favourite book. Therefore, it consists of a tradition which might not be easily replaced. Moreover, those people that live from selling books and writing newspapers could not continue their work if they can be acquired without paying. Although many newspapers have their online version available to the public, there is some news that is only possible to be seen if you are a member of the magazine, which means that you pay for accessing the information. The same occurs with e-books where there are apps with a wide range of online books, however, it is necessary to pay to download them. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate my strong belief that books and newspapers are responsible for an important part of the people’s lives, as well as economically important in many sections of our society. Therefore, they will still be having their printed versions.