These days, many people live or work overseas in a different country than they were born in. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and then give your own opinion.

In the present age, working and living abroad has become more popular than ever before. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of moving to a different country and why I believe it can be extremely positive. There are two main drawbacks to living abroad. For example, living in a different nation does not come without its challenges as immigrants struggle to adapt to local costumes and many times face strong cultural shocks. In addition, homesickness is a great issue as travellers can no longer taste their home-country cuisine, gather with their family, or speak their mother-tongue. Therefore, many people complain about feeling anxious and depressed as they are foreigners. However, there are strong merits for moving to another nation. For instance, such a decision will widen an individual’s cultural background as they learn a different language, meet different people and experience a different work culture. Furthermore, employers highly value professionals who take initiative and who have international experience as it increases diplomatic abilities. As a result, many people opt to acquire international experience for its powerful personal and professional development. In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have arguments. I believe that the positive outcomes of such decision are far more beneficial than the potential negative impacts on mental health as well as social challenges. Each individual, in my opinion, should spend at least a year in a foreign country to further their career and learn a new language.