Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that rich nations should welcome refugees and help them by providing accommodation and food. This essay totally disagrees with the above statement from the country's safety perspective and maintaining a stable economy. Refugees that enter from other countries have no clear records with regards to their whereabouts. There is no evidence about their history of livelihood and this could turn as a threat to the helping nation. The refugee could be terrorist who enters a country with evil thoughts about the citizens settled in the place. For example, in India, many refugees have entered from their neighbouring countries and that has resulted in bomb attacks in metro cities like Mumbai and Delhi. A country's economy depends on the people living there and contributing to the development of the nation. It is difficult to know the refugee's education or intelligence and whether they will contribute positively or negatively to the country's progress. They could become a liability instead of an asset to the nation and result in wasting of resources like land and water. For example, on Indian borders many refugees have arrived and illegally occupied lands to build their own houses, also they are creating issues for locals. In conclusion, a nation cannot be careless in terms of security and should consider this as utmost priority. Also, the growth of the country depends on the individuals staying in that place. It's not a wise decision to accept people who are refugees from other countries and bringing their own people at a risk.