Some people think that the computers will be more intelligent than humans. Others are worried about the negative consequences of them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The recent development of technologies such as artificial intelligence(AI) is sharp and it is often said that they will exceed human beings' abilities. On the other hand, some point out the drawbacks of this advancement. In my opinion, the positive aspects outweigh the negatives because these computers can contribute to society largely whereas the negative effects can be reduced by having an awareness of them. Firstly, cutting-edge technologies have a wide range of possible applications in the future such as the one in medical fields. In more detail, the research on applying machine learning, which is a type of artificial intelligence, to the diagnosis of cancers. It is especially useful in spotting malignant tumours from medical images taken from machines including MRI, CT and ultrasound by extensive data training. Consequently, a greater number of patients can be diagnosed at an earlier stage and cured earlier. However, this technological development may lead to misuse. For instance, deep-fake videos and pictures thanks to these technologies can cause defamation of celebrities by spreading false information about them, such as committing a crime. In addition, because the fake videos and the real ones are not distinguishable, it is difficult to prove their innocence. Despite this risk, its detrimental effect can be reduced by legislation to improve the restriction on misuse. For example, an electronic watermark is an effective strategy to show that the data is computer-produced clearly. In conclusion, there is a way to minimise the damage caused by advanced computers while there is a broad possibility of contributing to our world such as reducing the number of cancer patients. Therefore, I strongly believe that the benefits are more important than the drawbacks, and we should use more of those with the development of protection laws.