Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times.They don't want their children to read any entertainment books because they think it is a waste of time.Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?why?

Some parents think that they should not allow their children to read entertainment books since they can waste time and their children should read only serious educational books. I totally disagree with this statement because non-serious books offer essential life skills and children can also increase their self awareness through entertainment books. Although academic books provide useful information, other kinds of books play an important role in providing crucial practical skills. The objectives of many entertainment books are not only for fun but also teaching life skills in more engaging ways. For example, Haikyu, a famous anime book talking about Japanese volleyball tournaments, not only aims to entertain readers but also shows great elements of team building. Moreover, discipline and other good characteristics of athletes are mentioned. Therefore, children can learn about teamwork, friendship, and also other practical skills by reading non-academic books. Another reason why children should be allowed to read entertainment books is they can be more aware of themselves and their needs. Many biography books tell stories about other people's lives, especially famous persons. By exploring other lives, children will learn about various career opportunities, not being restricted to only a small group of jobs. For example, a book written about songwriters' or even music directors' lives can probably inspire pupils to choose their future careers more wisely. They can perhaps apply to music universities to follow their dreams. In conclusion, while many parents argue that non-academic books should be prohibited because it is a waste of time, I strongly believe that those books are beneficial. They offer many vital life skills and help children exploring career opportunities as well.