Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies, and interests. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

In this modern era, organisations are in a highly competitive world. So the method of job recruitment plays a vital role in making them successful in today's rat-race. In addition, the unparalleled development of technology has opened a new window of opportunity for people to acquire different skill sets; in turn, most of the professionals have numerous skills and abilities. So asking for personal information drives greater importance not only for employers but for the applicants as well. Moreover, for some jobs, it is essential to know the proposed employ's passion and some other information. For instance, there are various jobs such as cabin crews, nurses, child care workers; often, it is essential to know their sex as well as marital status. Nevertheless, although asking for private information about job applicants has some advantages, it's drawbacks should not be overlooked. Firstly, asking such criteria may lead to some personal bias. Some employers tend to choose the person as per their viewpoint. It may dwindle the chance of any skilled worker. Secondly, the selection department may feel aversion towards checking each application as it contains a lot of unnecessary information. Finally, reliability is another significant demerits of seeking personal information. Job seekers would tend to write more and more hobbies as they think that is how to impress management. Especially nowadays, most of the professionals are unemployed or under-paid and they are in pursuit of lucrative jobs. In short, personal bias, overfilling application form are the disadvantages of providing personal information, even though it is the best way to find out appropriate workers. Ergo, I strongly believe that it's positive outshine its negatives.