In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from the health problem as a result of eating too much junk food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax or this kind of food.

In the modern world, the consumption of fast food has been steadily increasing. In some countries, increasing amounts of fast food consumption have been one of the leading causes of health problems. This essay will highlight the reasons why the government should impose a higher tax for this kind of consumable products. Firstly, the most significant problem is that fast food is extremely cheap to consume. For instance, a cheeseburger from McDonald's costs only five dollars compared to healthier options like a subway sandwich which starts from ten dollars. Due to the economical prices of junk food people prefer to consume them compared to products that are less taxing on their health. Therefore, this makes it clear that the prices of junk food need to increase to be less appealing to consumers. Secondly, the government can utilize the money generated from imposing taxes for the welfare of the public. For example, by utilizing the generated funds the government can start programmes like sporting activities to improve the health of their citizens, they may also use the money to subsidize healthier food choices to make it more attractive to consumers. This can aid in keeping public health in check and counteract the health hazards that come from junk food consumption. To Summarize, the government can hit two birds with one stone by not only increasing the prices of junk food by imposing a tax on them but by using the amount generated from tax to improve the health of their citizens.