Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In the present world, increasing numbers of travellers choose locations with harsh weather conditions as their destinations. This essay discusses both the advantages and drawbacks of visiting remote locations. There are two main reasons that attract tourists to remote destinations. For instance, many see it as a once in a lifetime opportunity to experience earth’s unique extreme weather as well as how such conditions shape the ecosystem with exclusive views of fauna and flora. In addition, there is the chance to learn how the local Egyptian community deals with the challenges of building thermally isolated housing, finding water resources, embracing both sand storms and temperatures over sixty degrees celsius. As a result, tourists are not only fascinated by the ancient Egyptian pyramids but also by how living is made possible in an endless sand sea. However, there are potential drawbacks for these expeditions. For example, the cost is a solid obstacle for such adventures given that tickets are expensive due to fewer visitors and local guides being required to show tourists around safely and advert of potential health hazards along with appropriate safety measures. Furthermore, the unique temperatures pose several threats including hyperthermia for hot weather and frostbites, amputations and possibly death in extreme cold. Therefore, while the views of mountains and ice are outstanding many see the potential hazards and expenses with equipment, for instance, as a strong impediment to the visiting Antarctica. In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have merits. However, I believe that the memories and experiences provided by these exchanges far outweigh the potential drawbacks as these can be addressed in an effective manner with local guides and research. Each individual, in my opinion, should visit these locations as their landscapes are one of a kind.